2009 Pritzker Architecture Prize Winner: Peter Zumthor

The Swiss architect Peter Zumthor is the recipient of the 2009 Pritzker Prize, the highest recognition in architecture. Past winners include Frank Gehry, and the only woman ever to win the prize is Zaha Hadid.

left, Bath Vals, Graubünden, Switzerland (1996).
"Perhaps the project most closely associated with the architect is the spa he designed at the Hotel Therme in the Alpine village of Vals, Switzerland, which was completed in 1996.
"Using slabs of quartzite stone that evoke stacked Roman bricks, Mr. Zumthor created a contemporary take on the baths of antiquity." link.

No comments: